Help Crochet Chemo Caps

crochet beanies

If you are interested in doing some ministry work with your crochet skills I would ask that you please join in with us with making beanies for patients undergoing chemotherapy. They lose their hair in the process and the hospitals are welcoming donations to give the patients some comforting head covers to wear during the day and to sleep in.  See below for the basic pattern.

2015 Charity Crochet Page for charity information and where to send them.

Crochet beanie hat top of beanie cap

pretty chemo beanieThe end of this pattern has a the instructions how to pretty up the beanie as in this pic. It is an easy simple way to make a girly beanie. For boys I like to add 1-2″ of rib hem. I give hat measurements but some women and men are tall and have a longer forehead and some people are short and they have a short forehead. Make hat height longer or shorter as needed.

Crochet Beanie in Seamless Spiral

For Chemo caps make sure your hands are are clean and the yarn and area u are in are clean.  Usually a beanie is made in rounds (connected rows) and each round is closed by a slip stitch, but this pattern is done in a spiral so there are no seams. Using 10 stitches on the top makes slight dome shape. Most patters will have 8 which to me looks pointy. Using 12 stitches makes a more flat look like a basket.  Sometimes I use 9 and that makes a nice dome shape, too. It is based on the mathematical times table and will put your basic math skills to use!

Abbreviations:

ch – Chain

sl st – Slip stitch

sc – single crochet

hdc – Half Double crochet stitches

sts – stitches

Size: Women’s or Small Adult      Hook: I-Hook (5.5 mm)

Foundation: Ch 4 with a 4” tail. Sl st closed to create a ring. There is something called a Magic Circle which is an adjustable circle, that you might want to try also.

Round 1: Ch 2 (this counts as 1 hdc) Make 9 hdc in the ring. Work over the 4” tail as you crochet. Sl St in 2nd hdc. (total of 10 stitches)

Round 2: Ch 2. In same ch2 base space, make 1 hdc. Make 2 hdc in each chain. (total of 20 stitches, you are counting by 2’s))

Round 3: Without closing circle round with a sl st like row 1, put 2 half double crochet in the first chain space of round 2. (Right under/back of the chain 2 post) Then 1 hdc in the next stitch. *2hdc in one st, 1 hdc in next stitch* Repeat what is between asterisks** 9 more times. (total of 30 stitches, counting by 3’s)

         Note: The circle should lay flat or have a shallow dome for the top of the head. If it is curly it is because it requires less increases. Skip every other row or do a row of hdc without doing 2 in a stitch between the rows. If the hook is too small or stitches too tight, the beanie will look like a helmet.

Round 4: *2 hdc in next st, 1 hdc in next 2 sts* Repeat a total of 10x (40 stitches total, counting by 4’s)

Round 5: *2 hdc in next st, 1 hdc in next 3 sts*  Repeat 10x (50 st total, counting by 5’s)

Round 6: *2 hdc in next st, 1 hdc in next 4 sts* Repeat 10x (60 st total, counting by 6’s)

         Note: I am using a medium worsted weight with a 5.5mm hook. At this point measure the diameter of the circle. If it measures 6.75”  across, please stop here and make 1 hdc in each ch from now on until the top of the hat to the bottom equals 7.75”.

Round 7: *2 hdc in next stitch, 1 hdc in next 5 stitches* Repeat 10x (70 sts total, counting by 7’s)

          Note: Stop half way through round 7 to measure to see if the diameter of the crown is 6.75”  yet. (35 stitches)  If not, go to round 8 for a total of 80 stitches and keep increasing until it measures 6.75” in diameter. If it measures 6.75” at this point, do 1 hdc in each chain for the rest of the hat until the hat height is 7.75”. My crown measured 6.75” halfway through round 7. It took a total of 17 rounds to reach a hat height of 7.75”  Use a smaller hook (1-2 sizes smaller) to do last 4 rounds for a snug fit.  The chemo cap is longer to cover nape of neck and scalp near the ears so not to show any evidence of a bald head.

To end: Do 2 sc sts and then a sl st. Finish off and hide the 4” tail with a yarn needle. Please pull the 4” tail from the beginning of the crown and hide the tail with the yarn needle. If you want you can do a row of sl sts for a neat edging.

Pretty it up with a rose flower: After you add a round of sl sts to the end of the beanie. Finish off and add another round of hdc, sl st close and chain 2. On the next round, add a round of shell stitches.(*1sc, skip 2 ch, 5 dc in the next ch, skip 2 ch*) Repeat until end, and do your best to fit it in the length of chains. Finish off.  Add a flower. 50-70 chains, sc in the 3rd ch from the hook and continue to make sc sts to the end. Turn, ch 1 and make a sc in same ch. Do same shell stitches (*1sc, skip 2 ch, 5 dc in the next ch, skip 2 ch*) all the way to the end and finish off.  Using yarn needle and yarn, wrap length  into a flower and attach to beanie.

Make into a slouch beanie: Add 2-4″ to hat length. For hem edge, use a hook that is a size smaller and use front and back post stitches for a faux rib or do 4-9 rows of single crochet.

Adding a rib finish: I like to do front and back post stitches. Another popular way to do it is make a rib from working in the back loops.  Since both of these ways are stretchy, I would suggest going down a hook size so that it tapers in slightly. So if you did your hat with an I-Hook (5.5 mm), then do the rib with an H-Hook (5.0 mm).

Size chart for crochet hats Circle Diameter Hat Length Chemo Cap Length Slouchy or Fold Up Hat Width
Micro Preemie (<1 lb) 2” 3” X 4” 2.5”
1-2 lb Preemie 2.5” 3.5 X 4.5 4”
3-4 lb Preemie 3.5” 4” X 5.5” 5”
5-6 lb Preemie 4” 5.0 X 6.5 5.75
Newborn 7-8 lbs 4.5” 5.5 X 7” 6.5”
Baby (6-12 mos) 5.0” 6.0” X 7.5” 7.25”
Toddler (2T-5T) 5.5” 6.5” 7.25” 8.5” 8”
Kids (Age 6-10) 6.0” 6.75” 7.75” 9.25” 8.5”
Teen (Age 11-17) 6.5” 7.25” 8.25” 10.5” 9.25”
Women 6.75” 7.75” 8.75” 11” 10”
Men 7.0” 8.5” 9.5” 12” 11”

Chart on how stitches look as you increase in each row. See the pattern:

Round 1: I I I I I I I I I I (10 stitches)

Round 2: V V V V V V V V V V (20 stitches)

Round 3: V I V I V I V I V I V I V I V I V I V I (30 stitches)

Round 4: V I I V I I V I I V I I V I I V I I V I I V I I V I I V I I (40 stitches)

Round 5: V I I I V I I I V I I I V I I I V I I I V I I I V I I I V I I I V I I I V I I I (50 stitches)

Round 6: V I I I I V I I I I V I I I I V I I I I V I I I I V I I I I V I I I I V I I I I V I I I I V I I I I (60 Stitches)

Round 7: V I I I I I V I I I I I V I I I I I  V I I I I I V I I I I I V I I I I I V I I I I I V I I I I I V I I I I I V I I I I I (70 stitches)

2 thoughts on “Help Crochet Chemo Caps

Leave a Reply

