Mesh Rib Cowl

Mesh Rib Cowl

This one came out so much nicer than I imagined!

I did this one with a J Hook and did 30 stitches across but it felt really loose, it looks good though. I tried it a 2nd time with 34 stitches and an I-Hook and it looks good too, I am still working on it but you can adjust it to whatever size you like.

I like the cowls about 10-11″ in width and about 9-10″ in height because I like how I can pull it up over my nose when it gets very chilly. I keep seeing cowls that are wider but the neck is totally exposed! To me that is like a total waste. I like functional and durable over trendy but I do think cowls are nicer than scarves right now. Because it is meshy it is so light weight and perfect for sending in the mail without breaking the bank. Nice texture too. This is great for Fall or Spring or a moderate Winter like we have here in California.

I-Hook

size: teen to adult

Foundation: Ch 35

Row 1: Working in back loops only. 1 sc in the 2nd ch from the hook, *ch 1, sk 1 st, 1 sc in next ch* . Repeat 16 more times. Ch 1, turn.

Row 2-23: 1 sc in the first ch right next to the chain. *ch 1, sk 1 st, 1 sc in next ch*. Repeat 16 more times. (17 stitches in each row. You are putting each sc on top of the one from the previous row.)

Row 24: Ch 1. Using a sl st for this row, do a sl st all the way cross to connect both sides of this cowl. Finish off and weave in ends well.

Leave a Reply

