Are We Using Toxic Yarn?

kintted rib

I started off this website talking about natural yarns and then I got caught up in lots of acrylic yarn trying to do a lot of charity work and they DO ask for acrylic yarn. But somehow just recently I came across some articles and websites that make me want to stop using acrylic yarn or use it with caution.

Acrylic yarns are popular because of their affordability. But these petroleum-based products are usually made from vinyl acetate or methyl acrylate, both known carcinogens that can cause nausea, nose, throat, eye and skin irritation. The chemical process to create synthetic yarns also uses the solvent NN-dimethylformamide, a chemical linked to liver damage. More chemicals are used to wash, stretch, twist and dye the yarns. – greenlivingonline.com

 

The chemicals in many synthetic yarns are harmful to people. We use this yarn a lot for cancer patients and for babies but could we be doing more harm than good? I don’t know but since I am taking a month off from charity-work because my funds are low and I need to concentrate on my family responsibilities more… I am going to take some time to re-think about ever buying acrylic. I think I will switch to natural fibers as much as possible. I  don’t want to contribute to more suffering but to help suffering.  I know it is a little shocking but we need to face this.

A Canadian study found that women who work with some common synthetic materials could treble their risk of developing breast cancer after menopause.  The data included  women working in textile factories which produce acrylic fabrics   –  those women have seven times the risk of developing breast cancer than the normal population, while those working with nylon fibers had double the risk. – oecotextiles.wordpress.com

 

Here are some links I am looking at now:

acrylic yarnAre Your Clothes Making You Sick?

Chemical Clothing: Which Toxins Are You Wearing?

Should Clothing Have Toxic Warning Labels?

The Health Risks Of Toxic Fibers and Fabrics

Best Type of Yarn To Use For Chemo Caps

6 Synthetic Fabrics You Want To Avoid And Why

How Safe Is My Yarn?

Is Acrylic Yarn Safe?

Knitting with Organic Yarn

 

 

Yarns You May Want To Try That Won’t Break The Bank:

Universal Bamboo Pop Niabi Studios Yarn

Lion Brand Organic Cotton

Knit Picks Simply Organic Sport Yarn

Hempitique Hemp Yarn


Niabi Studios Cotton/Bamboo Yarn

 

One thought on “Are We Using Toxic Yarn?

Leave a Reply

