I have a challenge idea for 2023. With the same 1-3 skeins (100-300 grams) of your favorite color(s) of yarn in your favorite yarn weight: Every month, you make something different with the same skein(s). You make something in January, then photo it, then unravel it to make something for February and so on. One month could be a beanie, one month a water bottle holder, one month a pair of mittens, one month a mesh top, one month a cowl, one month a purse, one month a pillow cover, etc. You can wash the item to keep the yarn clean. Use knitting needles or crochet hooks or a loom. Tie knots on the back of the work if you cut the yarn. Post your photos of your monthly makes on MeWe and/or Instagram. Maybe we can use the hashtag #repurposeyarn. Or how about #reuseyarn ? Not sure.

It is even more eco-friendly if you use recycled or biodegradable yarn and tools.

The benefits are that it is good stress relief, it’s economical, it is creative and fun, and you can practice repurposing something all year long!

Let me know what you think.

I’ll keep editing this same blog post to make changes or anything pertaining to this subject or challenge.

12-8-22 I am getting excited about this. My goal is to make accessories this year. I am thinking about colors and yarns and what to make. I’m gonna wait until after Christmas in hopes that I get some gift cards and I don’t wanna get crazy buying too much. Maybe 2 skeins of a navy color ‘cause it will have to be a color that will be able to be used all year round.

I saw on Pinterest earlier today that there is a book called ‘52 Weeks of Easy Knits’ and a lot of the photos from the book were there, too. It looks really good! The designs are simple and cute and very wearable. The book comes out tomorrow! (12-9-22) There is already a hashtag on Instagram with pics for you to see. #52weeksofeasyknits

If you can, come and check out my ‘Joyful In Tribulation MeWe Group’. I’m posting like every day! Mostly free patterns.

12-31-22 I wanted to use a stash yarn for my Yarn Challenge 2023 and I picked a green cotton yarn to make accessories all year, a different accessory every month by making an item, frogging it at the end of the month and making something else to repeat this the whole year 12 times. I will post the pics here, MeWe and on Instagram. #yarnchallenge2023 #reuseyarn #repurposeyarn #jitproject

1-27-23 Finished my first Yarn Challenge 2023 item. It’s recycled cotton from @paintboxyarns . I’m going to keep frogging this yarn to make a new item every month. I think I’ll make a scarf next. This pattern is a free pattern from @premieryarns #yarnchallenge2023 #jitproject #knithat #recycledyarns #reuseyarns #reuserevolution

Premier Yarns ‘Sweet Pea Lace Scarf’ pattern in Paintbox Yarns Recycled Cotton in Sea Green. I used a little more than 200 grams for 66”
This is a stitch pattern from a garment from Schachenmayr “Sweater with Diamonds”. It was easy to do with the chart to make this bag but all that cable knitting was not for me and it took longer than I expected. The straps are knitted and the tie is crocheted.
It’s hard to find feminine looking stitches but I thought this was pretty to do small bobbles. My first prescription glasses are coming next week!
This was an absolute pleasure to do! I tried a vintage knitting pattern stitch from the 1970s and it was like finding a treasure! Use natural yarn and straight wood or wood knitting needles for the maximum happiness effect!
Crochet Sun hat. Sometimes I get lucky and it just fits well. It took more yarn than I thought.
I love meshy scarves in the summer. This is cotton and just perfect. I used the whole ball of yarn.
This is the Premier Yarns Boho Water Bottle Holder pattern. I didn’t do the cute tassels to save yarn for the next few projects.
I love berets. Don’t you? This pattern is Liatris from the Filcolana website. So cute!
I made a crochet belt. I used the D-rings of Misty’s dog leash. She died in March 2023.
This is a leaf shaped washcloth. I always wanted to make one of these!
I made some fingerless mittens. I’ve made hundreds of these and can do them in my sleep without a pattern.

Leave a comment