Maybe you have never thought of this before. I haven’t, so it is something very interesting that I want to dig into but it’s on the topic of “Bartering”. When I heard about the Chinese Social Credit System and a coming Digital Currency, I know I didn’t want to be part of that. It made me think, “What would we use if there were no cash?” Out of curiosity I looked to see if there were other forms of cash and there were. A few towns had their own form of currency. I looked to see what we used in history and we had frontier trading posts. In movies, when I was a kid, they traded furs. Remember those Western shows and movies? What would we trade now? The search of trading posts had posts about bartering. That’s what recently started me down a fun and interesting rabbit hole because people actually currently doing that!

This video really peaked my interest and I hope it will peak yours.

So what does this have to do with yarn? Well, I wish I had more! What can I offer to trade? Well, I can knit and crochet. I was thinking I would knit someone a sweater if they buy double the yarn so I can use the rest of the yarn to make myself a sweater, too. I don’t need any more but it’s super fun to knit. But just minutes ago I was thinking it out more and I live near a Dollar Tree Store and if I order 2 boxes of yarn from their website, it is $30 with free pick up. Do I really want to knit a sweater for $30? Well, it’s paying for a crazy knitting habit. It’s probably enough for a cropped simple sweater size Small to Large. Maybe lace in the Summer or an easy cable pattern in the winter. I don’t know, its just an idea today.

But what if anyone else wants to do this? Well, let us at least think of the possibilities. Maybe one of us will make a business or a side hustle job out of it. And if anyone is already doing this will you let me know? Do I only do this type of thing with someone I actually can talk to or some who is a friend or family member? I would love to know what you think.

Dee Ann

June 8, 2023 – It’s the next day. It’s not going to work unless someone local gives me yarn that they want to destash. No money is exchanged and there are no delivery fees. The same yarn on the Premiere website is cheaper. I would have to buy the yarn and have it delivered it here, then after I am done knitting the garment, it has to be sent by mail. The garment would be more like $60. This is a regular business transaction. It involves government taxes and regulations, and it involves a bank. So, no, that’s no where close to my idea. Let me keep thinking and reading on the subject and I’ll see if I can come up with something else, otherwise it is only for local transactions.


Leave a comment